The International Architecture Forum 2002 was a success for Stuttgart!

The presentations are available in the Internet in German

75 years, almost to the day, after the completion of the Weissenhof housing estate and the opening of the German Werkbund exhibition in 1927, the State Capital of Stuttgart and the Wüstenrot Foundation were host to an International Architecture Forum. This anniversary of one of the most important monuments of Modernist architecture provided an occasion for consideration of the roots, visions and development lines of Modernist architecture.

635 participants came to Stuttgart for this event, including guests not only from all over Germany, but from all around the world, from Tokyo to Rio de Janeiro. This made the event, which was integrated as a pre-conference into the XXI World Architecture Congress in Berlin, an international meeting-point for all those who concern themselves with architecture. For three days, from 19 to 21 July, 2002, presentations from international contributors, together with supporting events, offered an extensive and packed programme. The architecture critic Amba Sayah spoke in her report in the Stuttgarter Zeitung of a "conference as concentrated as it was concise", accurately characterising the content and atmosphere.

The welcoming speeches by Lord Mayor Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Dr. Wolfgang Bollacher, Chairman of the Wüstenrot Foundation and Prof. Rainer Zinsmeister, Stuttgart, emphasised the obligation to preserve the legacy of Modernist architecture and to make experience gained useful in meeting the challenges of today´s urban architecture.

The architectural inheritance of Modernist architecture - ideas, experience, trends

The first day of the event addressed the architectural inheritance of Modernist architecture and the place in architectural history of the Weissenhof housing estate from various points of view. Jean-Louis Cohen, Paris, described the launch into Modernism around 1925 in various countries. Karin Kirsch, Stuttgart, contrasted Traditionalism and Modernism in Stuttgart. Norbert Huse, Munich, reported on the still new area of preservation of the epoch-making buildings of Modernist architecture.

A second cycle of presentations was dedicated to the experience of contemporary architects, their biographies and their debt to the architecture of Modernism. First, Werner Durth, Darmstadt, gave an overview of trends in Modernism and pointed up various positions. Developments after WWII were brought to life by personally coloured contributions from Günter Behnisch, Stuttgart, Dietmar Eberle, Zürich and Matthias Sauerbruch, Berlin. Paul Kahlfeldt, Berlin provided a counterpoint.

A parallel event dealt with the current circumstances of historical preservation of Modernist buildings. Four project reports, from Helge Pitz, Berlin, Simone Hain, Hamburg, Winfried Brenne, Berlin, Joris Molenaar, Delft and Bertholt Burkhardt, Braunschweig described the refurbishment of outstanding buildings of Modernist architecture: the Einstein tower in Potsdam (Mendelsohn), Tugendhat house, Brünn (Mies van der Rohe), Meisterhaus Muche/Schlemmer in Dessau (Gropius) and Sonneveld House, Rotterdam (Brinkmann/Van der Vlugt).

Future of the city - challenges and opportunities

On the second day, the focus was on the urban architecture dimension of Modernism. Taking criticism of the unhealthy metropolises of the 19th century as a starting point, Franz Pesch, Stuttgart, scrutinised critically the housing estate models of the 20´s, and their relevance for the city in the 21st century. Kees Christiaanse, Rotterdam, presented new concepts from Holland of dense urban population while Marc Angélil, Zürich/Los Angeles, took up the theme of urban entropy in rampantly rhizome-like metropolis structures. As replacement for Oriol Bohigas, Barcelona, who was unfortunately unable to participate due to illness, the organisers were able to secure Jury P. Volchok, Moskau, at short notice as "surprise guest", who spoke on the avant-garde architecture of Moscow and the problems of its preservation. The expert presentations were considered in more depth in discussion rounds, moderated by Hanno Rauterberg, Hamburg, Ira Mazzoni, München and Peter Conradi, Stuttgart.

Architectural excursions and supporting programme

The third day offered the opportunity to become familiar with the history of architecture in Baden-Württemberg in five excursions. Excursion 1 concentrated on Günter Behnisch´s work in the Stuttgart area. Excursion 2 presented new technologies in connection with unused existing buildings, with the Centre for Art and Media Technology (ZKM) in Karlsruhe and the European Media and the Event Academy in Baden-Baden. Excursion 3 dealt with the large-area conversions on former military sites in Ostfildern and Tübingen. Excursion 4 focused on important civil engineering works and innovations in light-weight construction. Finally, excursion 5 was dedicated to a tour of panoramic views from the hills surrounding Stuttgart and the special topography of the conference location.

This technical programme was integrated into a range of supporting events. On 18 July, 2002, an exhibition on the Weissenhof housing estate was opened in the Stuttgart City Gallery, to great public interest. It remained open until 6 October, 2002, and constituted the first large-scale presentation of the Weissenhof housing estate for a broad public. On 19 October, 2002, participants in the congress were able as part of a reception to view the whole of James Stirling and Michael Wilford´s building complex shortly before its completion. As well as the completed part, including the New State Gallery and the first phase of the College of Music, construction site visits were possible to the second phase of the College, the History House (Wilford/Schupp Architects) and the extensions to the Old State Gallery (Steib Architects). The Congress programme was rounded off with the convivial party of the Baden-Württemberg Chamber of Architects in the Zeppelin-Carré, a trend-setting urban renewal project near the central station.

 
 

Organiser


   

State Capital of Stuttgart
Overall co-ordination: City Planning Departement

Wüstenrot Foundation
Responsible for the programme on 19 July 2002

 
 

Support


   

State Government of Baden-Württemberg
Baden-Württemberg Chamber of Architects
Federation of German Architects (BDA),
Baden-Württemberg Section
German Landscape Architects Assocation,
Baden-Württemberg Section
Baden-Württemberg Chamber of Engineers

 
 

Co-ordination


   

Stuttgarter Messe- und Kongress GmbH
Stuttgart Convention Bureau

Das Internationales Architektur-Forum 2002 war ein Erfolg für Stuttgart!

Fast auf den Tag 75 Jahre nach der Fertigstellung der Weissenhofsiedlung und der Eröffnung der Bauausstellung des Deutschen Werkbunds 1927 luden die Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart und die Wüstenrot Stiftung zu einem Internationalen Architektur-Forum ein. Dieses Jubiläum eines der wichtigsten Baudenkmale der Architektur-Moderne bildete den Anlass für die Auseinandersetzung mit Wurzeln, Visionen und Entwicklungslinien der modernen Architektur.

635 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer kamen zu dieser Veranstaltung nach Stuttgart, darunter Gäste aus ganz Deutschland, aber auch aus der ganzen Welt von Tokio bis Rio de Janeiro. Damit wurde diese Veranstaltung, die als Vorkonferenz in den XXI. Architektur-Weltkongress in Berlin integriert war, zu einem internationalen Treffpunkt für Architektur-Interessierte. Drei Tage lang, vom 19. bis 21. Juli 2002, boten Beiträge internationaler Referenten sowie Rahmenveranstaltungen ein umfangreiches und dichtes Programm. Die Architekturkritikerin Amba Sayah sprach in ihrem Bericht in der Stuttgarter Zeitung von einer "so konzentrierten wie konzisen Tagung" und gab damit eine treffende Charakterisierung zu Inhalt und Atmosphäre.

In der Begrüßung durch Oberbürgermeister Dr. Wolfgang Schuster, Dr. Wolfgang Bollacher, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Wüstenrot Stiftung sowie Prof. Rainer Zinsmeister, Stuttgart, wurde die Verpflichtung hervorgehoben, das Erbe der Moderne zu bewahren und Erfahrungen für die Lösung heutiger städtebaulicher Herausforderungen nutzbar zu machen.

Das architektonische Erbe der Moderne - Ideen, Erfahrungen, Tendenzen

Der erste Veranstaltungstag näherte sich dem architektonischen Erbe der Moderne und der architekturgeschichtlichen Rolle der Weissenhofsiedlung aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln. Jean-Louis Cohen, Paris, zeichnete den Aufbruch in die Moderne um 1925 in verschiedenen Ländern nach. Karin Kirsch, Stuttgart, stellte Traditionalismus und Moderne in Stuttgart gegenüber. Norbert Huse, München, berichtete über das noch junge Gebiet der Denkmalpflege für epochemachende Bauten der modernen Architektur.

Ein zweiter Vortragszyklus widmete sich Erfahrungen heutiger Architekten und ihren Biographien und Rezeptionen der modernen Architektur. Zunächst gab Werner Durth, Darmstadt, einen Überblick über Tendenzen in der Moderne und verdeutlichte unterschiedliche Positionen. Die Entwicklung nach dem 2. Weltkrieg wurde erlebbar gemacht durch persönlich gefärbte Beiträge von Günter Behnisch, Stuttgart, Dietmar Eberle, Zürich und Matthias Sauerbruch, Berlin. Einen Kontrapunkt setzte Paul Kahlfeldt, Berlin.

In einer parallelen Veranstaltung wurde der aktuelle Sachstand beim Denkmalschutz für Bauten der Moderne behandelt. Dazu wurden in vier Werkberichten von Helge Pitz, Berlin, Simone Hain, Hamburg, Winfried Brenne, Berlin, Joris Molenaar, Delft und Bertholt Burkhardt, Braunschweig die Instandsetzung herausragender Baudenkmäler der Moderne behandelt : der Einstein-Turm in Potsdam (Mendelsohn), das Haus Tugendhat in Brünn (Mies van der Rohe), das Muche/Schlemmer-Meisterhaus in Dessau (Gropius) und das Haus Sonneveld in Rotterdam (Brinkmann/Van der Vlugt).

Zukunft der Stadt - Herausforderungen und Chancen

Am zweiten Tag stand die städtebauliche Dimension der Moderne im Mittelpunkt. Ausgehend von der Kritik an der ungesunden Großstadt des 19. Jahrhunderts wurden von Franz Pesch, Stuttgart, Siedlungsmodelle der zwanziger Jahre kritisch hinterfragt und auf ihre Tauglichkeit für die Stadt im 21. Jahrhundert geprüft. Kees Christiaanse, Rotterdam, stellte neue Konzepte verdichteter Urbanität aus den Niederlanden vor und Marc Angélil, Zürich/Los Angeles, befasste sich mit der urbanen Entropie in rhizomhaft wuchernden Großstadtstrukturen. Für den erkrankten Oriol Bohigas, Barcelona, konnte kurzfristig als "Überraschungsgast" Jury P. Volchok, Moskau, gewonnen werden, der über Moskauer Avantgarde-Architektur und die Probleme ihrer Erhaltung referierte. Vertieft wurden die Fachvorträge in Diskussionsrunden, moderiert von Hanno Rauterberg, Hamburg, Ira Mazzoni, München und Peter Conradi, Stuttgart.

Fachexkursionen und Rahmenprogramm

Der dritte Tag bot die Gelegenheit, in fünf Fachexkursionen das Baugeschehen in Baden-Württemberg kennen zu lernen. Exkursion 1 hatte das Werk von Günter Behnisch im Raum Stuttgart zum Thema. Exkursion 2 stellte mit dem Zentrum für Kunst und Medientechnologie ZKM in Karlsruhe und der europäischen Medien- und Event-Akademie in Baden-Baden neue Technologien im Spannungsfeld zu umgenutzten Bestandsbauten vor. Exkursion 3 galt den großflächigen Konversionen auf ehemaligen Militärflächen in Ostfildern und Tübingen. Exkursion 4 hatte bedeutende Ingenieurbauten und Innovationen im Leichtbau zum Thema. Exkursion 5 letztlich widmete sich mit einer Rundfahrt zu Aussichtspunkten um den Stuttgarter Kesselrand der besonderen Topographie des Tagungsorts.

Dieses fachliche Programm war eingebettet in eine Reihe von Rahmenveranstaltungen. Am 18. Juli 2002 wurde mit großem öffentlichen Interesse eine Ausstellung zur Weissenhofsiedlung in der Galerie der Stadt Stuttgart eröffnet. Sie war bis zum 6. Oktober 2002 zu sehen und bildete die erste große Präsentation der Weissenhofsiedlung in Stuttgart für ein breites Publikum. Am 19. Oktober 2002 konnten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Kongresses im Rahmen eines Empfangs das gesamte, kurz vor der Fertigstellung stehende Gebäudeensemble von James Stirling und Michael Wilford besichtigen. Neben dem fertiggestellten Teil mit Neuer Staatsgalerie und 1. Bauabschnitt der Musikhochschule waren Baustellenbesuche im 2. Bauabschnitt der Musikhochschule, im Haus der Geschichte (Wilford/Schupp Architekten) sowie im Erweiterungsbau der Alten Staatsgalerie (Steib Architekten) möglich. Das gesellige Fest der Architektenkammer Baden-Württemberg im Zeppelin-Carré, einem richtungsweisenden Stadterneuerungsprojekt beim Hauptbahnhof, rundete das Kongressprogramm ab.

 
 

Veranstalter


   

Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart
Gesamtkoordination Stadtplanungsamt

Wüstenrot Stiftung, Ludwigsburg
Verantwortlich für das Fachprogramm am 19. Juli 2002

 
 

Unterstützung


   

Landesregierung Baden-Württemberg
Architektenkammer Baden-Württemberg
Bund Deutscher Architekten BDA, Landesverband B.-W.
Bund Deutscher Landschaftsarchitekten BDLA,
Landesverband B.-W.
Ingenieurkammer Baden-Württemberg

 
 

Durchführung


   

Stuttgarter Messe- und Kongress GmbH